Skip to content

Humid Links: money, love and vampires (sort of)

July 29, 2011
  • From Alex Ross, an interview with Nike Wagner, an arts administrator and related to that ol blowhard Richard.
  • One of my favorite tweeps, Stuart Estell, is apparently a novelist in addition to being a tubist/pianist. Consider it on my stack.
  • I hate to link to this, but I also want to make sure I can find it to show people it actually exists: Headline “Amy Winehouse’s Untimely Death Is a Wake Up Call for Small Business Owner”
  • Some of the bigger classical labels are opening up their catalogs to be remixed. They’re not 30 years behind the curve at all.
  • WFMU with a great set of graphical notation scores.
  • The Dial Up sound, 700% slower.
  • I’ve been told that the NY Phil’s performance of Le Grand Macabre is online somewhere, but I’m having no luck finding it, which is a really awful job by the Philharmonic. (edit: awful job on my part. Video)
  • 12 hour competitive composition event tomorrow!
  • I found out about Vampire Cowboys at comic con and they’re running an indie go go project to go back this year. I think its a novel way to use the service. I just wish the swag they were offering was cooler, like DVDs of productions or a special performance only donors can get into during the week of comic con.
  • Really cool piece of music on the youtube.
  • Ian David Moss serving up the money quote from a recent piece by Michael Kaiser. (vaguely related, I’d love to see an impassioned argument that the squeezing of the middle class is destroying the arts.)
  • 5 seconds of every Billboard #1 hit, if you have 5 hour to kill.
  • Cool art project by Jacob Wick.
  • Jeremy Denk should be paid for this stuff.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

