Skip to content

Links: opera plot, printers, and TMI

March 3, 2011

I accidentally posted this article not once, but twice last week.  I am clearly in control of technology.  Those of you who read me via RSS have probably seen most of these already.

  • #OperaPlot!!! I am terrible at this sort of Internet game, but I plan to get nothing done this week so I can read everyone else being really clever.
  • Greg Sandow knocked a few out of the park this week.  One and Two.
  • Dot Matrix Symphony (via Paul Bailey.  I’m going to try and get better at this, but truthfully I just forget half the time where I find links)
  • Good piece from Evan Kuchar on seeing the Spektral Quartet in a nontraditional space.
  • A piece of music for every year of the 20th Century? (via Corey)
  • Some music/sound/collage/call it what you want by Phillippe Petit.
  • I’m not convinced I understand all of these, but Super Mario Theory Lesson is pretty awesome.
  • Alexandra Gardner’s week in NYC.
  • I realized at some point last week that I had hit a critical mass in the amount of information coming at me last week when Swiss Miss posted on communication issues.  I think I need to start by going on facebook just once a day, followed up by weeding down my Google Reader.  Both of those might be harder than quitting smoking.
  • First off, the new look at The Big City is really great.  Also, George’s story on downtown Manhattan was really fascinating to me because I’ve read about that time and place on more than one occasion, but always from the squatter/punk perspective.  Its interesting to see how the changes to Tompkins Square/Bowery changed other music communities I listen to.
  • Two posts on Glass’ Orphee performed by Ensemble Parallele: Eastside View and SF Civic Center. I would have loved to see this.
  • I read Renewable Music for moments like this.
  • Finally, on the importance of teaching people a functional musical vocabulary.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    March 9, 2011 1:20 pm

    Re: Super Mario Music Theory

    At Eastman, the theory faculty refuse to recognize that “phrase modulations” exist, or even “sequence modulations” for that matter. Everything must have a pivot chord, even if that pivot chord makes no sense. If you end a phrase with a PAC in A Major, and start the next phrase in A Minor, they still insist you find a pivot. It’s very aggravating.

  2. Doug permalink*
    March 9, 2011 1:52 pm

    I suggest the Ashtray Argument: “If someone says something you don’t like, you throw something at him.”

    http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/03/06/the-ashtray-the-ultimatum-part-1/#more-82978

Leave a Reply

