Skip to content

Tuesday February Links, but mostly videos

February 1, 2011

This is a day late because yesterday I went to see Nixon in China’s last rehearsal at the Met.  Bullet Point Review of that will come later today.  About to do an interview with the director of the Opera Workshop at Rutgers, Pamela Gilmore, which will air tomorrow at 5pm.  I’ll also podcast that one for you all.

  • Great Eddie Izzard find from Ain’t Baroque.
  • Shuffle Recital. It would be kind of cool if there was one outright modern pop song in the mix, but it’s still a pretty diverse set.
  • Extreme Polar Bear Clapping Music.  I was sort of hoping for actual polar bears, but its almost as good.
  • Yawar by Mikael Trillo-Figueroa, a cool new guitar piece.
  • On live recordings.
  • You always discover the great things after they’re gone, like this radio show.
  • Set aside 20 minutes to read this.  Its really great, and its about Paul Lansky’s Threads, which So Percussion recently recorded.
  • Nonmusic: Abandoned breweries.
  • Stick with this until the very end and you’ll thank me.
  • I had the privilege to work with Nathan Thomas for a few months, and I’m really glad he’s being recognized for his hard work and dedication to music education.
  • Musical ideas are delivered by storks, just like babies.
  • NonMusic2: XKCD
  • Olivia Giovetti actually stole a blog post I had brewing of amazing album covers.  I’ve been taking pictures of the highlights at WRSU, but she did a much better job than I ever could.
  • NonMusic3: Abstract Comic
  • Kevin Smith is going to distribute his newest film on his own.  I wonder how the film world is going to react to this in comparison to Radiohead’s In Rainbows.
  • So, obviously the big news this week was Milton Babbit’s passing.  I like this introduction of sorts, support for writing for the elite, and this admission that making jokes about the passing of a human being.  For what it’s worth, I made a number of jokes about Babbitt’s death as well, but no one yelled at me.  I’m sorry anyways.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 5:11 pm

    Hey, thanks for the empathy! And for the link!

  2. cultureonthecheap permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:46 pm

    Well, to be fair, Proper Discord takes the cake for album cover blog posts. I’m just riding their coattails.

  3. Doug permalink*
    February 1, 2011 11:47 pm

    Yeah, but you actually used some of the same covers I had taken pictures of!

Leave a Reply

