Skip to content

Gift Giving the Ninth

December 18, 2010

A few weeks back I was entirely stumped over what I should be asking for this Holiday season.  I’m personally privileged enough that when something new comes out, if I’m interested in it, I generally go ahead and get it.  So, I generally have to make up stuff I don’t really want, or things that are a few years old that I forgot I wanted a long time ago.  I also find the idea of requesting things from other people generally weird, so I don’t put very much effort into it.  Anyway, I figured I’d feature a handful of things that I think are pretty cool but not the newest or hottest things that you would find on any featured gift list.  They’ll also all be radio and music related, maybe.

Like video games?  Like romantic piano music?  You should probably pick up Eternal Sonata, even if it takes a few moments to suspend your disbelief to process the game’s concept.  That concept being, Chopin is on his deathbed, and as he’s dying dreams about a beautiful girl, named Polka, who needs to be saved by a boy, young Frederic Chopin, who fights evil to save her.   Some of these enemies include Fugue, Tuba, and Count Waltz.

No, really, its not as absurd as it sounds.

Okay, maybe its as absurd as it sounds, but its not as bad as it sounds.

For starter’s the world that gameplay occurs in is historically accurate in that it was based on the places Chopin lived.  It was even proofread by the Chopin Society in Warsaw.   The score is also an interesting combination of Chopin’s music and original material/arrangements by Motoi Sakuraba.  The soundtrack can also be purchased on its own, and has received a fair amount of acclaim for stand alone music.

I’m not suggesting this is a historically accurate exploration of Chopin’s life, but it certainly is a fun role playing game that has some interesting music and gorgeous graphics while playing around with some musical ideas and terms.

 

Previously:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

