Skip to content

Gift Giving the Seventh

December 11, 2010

Last week I was entirely stumped over what I should be asking for this Holiday season.  I’m personally privileged enough that when something new comes out, if I’m interested in it, I generally go ahead and get it.  So, I generally have to make up stuff I don’t really want, or things that are a few years old that I forgot I wanted a long time ago.  I also find the idea of requesting things from other people generally weird, so I don’t put very much effort into it.  Anyway, I figured I’d feature a handful of things that I think are pretty cool but not the newest or hottest things that you would find on any featured gift list.  They’ll also all be radio and music related, maybe.


WFMU is something I definitely take advantage of, and I know I’m not the only one.  But it’s so easy to just take for granted the world’s greatest free form radio station, with them giving so much and asking for so little.  Day in and day out they play music better than your average radio programmed by DJs who are weirder than your average jackass music snob.

 

Right this moment, for example, the DJ is talking with an above average amount of reverb with bubble sounds in the background.  I’m not sure what that’s an example of, honestly, but it’s an example.  The point is, you probably owe WFMU something, whether its because you directly listen to them or they’ve discovered something great that you appreciate. Little known fact: when WFMU was the college radio station of Upsala College, my father called sports games on the station for a year.  So if you’ve ever listened to my show, you in some way owe WFMU.

So why not clear your conscience of taking advantage of Jersey City’s hottest transmitter by gifting someone some awesome WFMU swag?

 

Previously:

  • Sixth: From Dawn to Decadence
  • Fifth: Mohair Time Warp
  • Fourth: Peter and the Wolf
  • Third: The Dark Knight
  • Second: Rossz Csillag Allat
  • First: Twilight Zone Radio
Leave a Reply

