Skip to content

Gift Giving the Third

November 28, 2010

So, yesterday I was entirely stumped over what I should be asking for this Holiday season.  I’m personally privileged enough that when something new comes out, if I’m interested in it, I generally go ahead and get it.  So, I generally have to make up stuff I don’t really want, or things that are a few years old that I forgot I wanted a long time ago.  I also find the idea of requesting things from other people generally weird, so I don’t put very much effort into it.  Anyway, I figured I’d feature a handful of things that I think are pretty cool but not the newest or hottest things that you would find on any featured gift list.  They’ll also all be radio and music related, maybe.

No offense to Danny Elfman and his very Elfman-y orchestral score for Batman, but if you need to listen to an epic intense film score involving a rich guy that wears spandex to fight crime, the original soundtrack to the Dark Knight by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard should be your pick.

Really, Elfman’s score very much hits the mark for the vibe of that film, but as far as stand alone music and just bad assery, Howard and Zimmer are superior.  Matching the gritty and psychological aspects of The Dark Knight, the score uses a number of extended techniques and unnerving textural moments to great effect.

Most fascinating to me is how much a departure this score is from other soundtracks both men have previously produced, such as Gladiator and King Kong. Just the idea of two film score heavyweights collaborating seems improbable and it being successful less probable still.  But it worked and we can all benefit from it.

I’m realizing that my gift ideas are all veering towards the dark and creepy, so I may have to come up with some more happy pleasant ideas before someone starts questioning my emotional state and/or understanding of Christmas, but trust me on this one.  Awesomest Psychotic Christmas Ever.  Also, I’m not linking to any specific sites to buy because well, I have no stake in the matter.  For what it’s worth, I think you should give your local record and book stores a call before considering any of the big boxes or Internet.  They’ll all be glad to have your business and value your community more than any of those other options.

 

Previously:

  • Second: Rossz Csillag Allat
  • First: Twilight Zone Radio
One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Endless Possibilities

Leave a Reply

