Skip to content

Holiday Gifting the Second

November 27, 2010

So, yesterday I was entirely stumped over what I should be asking for this Holiday season.  I’m personally privileged enough that when something new comes out, if I’m interested in it, I generally go ahead and get it.  So, I generally have to make up stuff I don’t really want, or things that are a few years old that I forgot I wanted a long time ago.  I also find the idea of requesting things from other people generally weird, so I don’t put very much effort into it.  Anyway, I figured I’d feature a handful of things that I think are pretty cool but not the newest or hottest things that you would find on any featured gift list.  They’ll also all be radio and music related, maybe.


The Venetian Snares’ Rossz Csillag Allat isn’t what you would call a classical crossover album, but I’m not sure what else you would call an album of top notch breakcore with orchestral music.

The album’s title loosely means “cursed birth” and is a fairly dark and aggressive album.  Sampled in the album are a number composers including Bartok, Stravinsky, Pagannini and Prokofiev, among others.

Someone familiar with the Snares’ (aka Aaron Funk) music is probably familiar with this album, but the payoff is for someone who may like classical music and didn’t know this treatment of it existed.  Unlike cheesy modifications to classical music to make it more modern for the masses or carefully calculated pop music that borrows instruments from the classical music world, this album comes off much more organic.  The elements are fused to create a really powerful message and while maybe abrasive, is a much grander piece of art than most music you’re about to be assaulted with for the next month.

Now, I’m certainly not saying this album is perfect for everyone.  I would definitely sample it before picking up, but if you know someone that responds favorably to both dance music and classical music, this is probably a sure bet.

 

Previously:

  • First: Twilight Zone Radio
Leave a Reply

