Skip to content

Links

November 15, 2010

I swear, I’m going to get back into the habit of posting more than just show play lists and links.  At the very least I’ll start providing some commentary on the play lists.  But until then…

  • Have you heard the newest Corey Dargel tune?
  • Henryk Gorecki died last week, and the Rambler compiled a number of obituaries.  I have to admit I’ve never heard his 3rd symphony, but I absolutely love the String Quartets he wrote for Kronos.
  • Something pretty, because most of us don’t have enough pretty in our daily lives.
  • A musical analysis of a Lady Gaga song that opens up with a comparison to Wagner.  Related? I’m listening to Glenn  Gould’s piano transcriptions of Wagner and they’re great.
  • Light Classical, but its not what you think.
  • At WRSU we use a term that’s generally perjorative, called Friend Rock, or music you only play because you’re friends with the band.  Well, WRSU alum Paul Simpson  friend rock’d me, and it feels awesome!
  • Why would a newspaper print a series of meaningless statements?
  • Anyone remember the Law and Order SVU episode where a victim’s sister is also an assailant, and she just happens to be an opera singer?  I saw it last week.  It was awful.
  • I really thought this was some great writing on the LA Phil’s new theater-cast endeavor from Iron Tongue of Midnight.
  • Sequenza21 earns points for hyping Newspeak’s video for sweet light crude, but loses points for being curmudgeonly about the video effects.  I find it awesome in every way.
  • Two of my favorite things collide again!  That would be hockey and classical music, of course.
  • Nicole Chamberlain, one of the first people I played in the Explorations Series, participated in the 24 Hour Opera challenge last week, and here’s the result.
  • Finally, another person from Explorations, Mikael Trillo-Figueroa has some music up on Youtube.  I think the synthesis of the visuals and sound work really well.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 1:17 pm

    what’s a simpon? is that like a simple tampon?

  2. Doug permalink*
    November 15, 2010 4:41 pm

    Spell Check is for squares.

Leave a Reply

