Skip to content

How to start the week off wrong…

November 8, 2010

*Links tomorrow.  They’re all there and  stuff, but I feel like whining, so I’ll do them later.

So I had every intention of having a good week this week.  I even went to sleep early last night to make sure it worked out!  The game plan was practice and exercise this morning, and then head into working on some music, doing the blogging, and putting together some work for foley art-ifying the WRSU Christmas special that’ll be airing this December.

Practicing went well.  I got 30 minutes in and decided I’d switch back and forth with that and other chores.  Then I went out to my bike to exercise.  And then catastrophe started…

Oh look, the air’s a little low, I’ll get the air tank.  Why’s the pressure not increasing? Oh, the tank’s low so the pressure’s lower in the tank than my tires.  Boo.

So I grabbed my hand pump.  I attached it to the wheel… and listened to all the air drain out of the tire.  Apparently there was a leak in a hand pump joing so it didn’t work out too well. I go and get a wrench and tighten the joint.  I finally fill up the front tire to my satisfaction.

Move onto the back tire, to discover its not spinning smoothly.  Oh, look, there’s a broken spoke.   That’s no big deal, I’ll just grab my spoke wrench and spare spokes and…. wait, where are all of my bike tools.  Really, it’s all my fault.  I only put them all in a really brightly colored plastic box.

So after walking around for 10 minutes looking for said brightly colored box, I give up and decide to just take it to the store. I wasn’t sure if it’d be open at 10:30 am so I was very happy to see the OPEN sign light up brightly when I drove to the parking lot.  I grab my bike and head to the store to find out that its closed, and is never open on Mondays and some jerk just forgot to turn off the Open sign.

So I head to google and search for bike repair, and I find another place on the other side of town.  I drive up and down the street three times before deciding that Google has also lied to me and this store doesn’t exist.  So I go to the next store on the list, a big box store that may just sell bikes, which is about 5 minutes away. So I call ahead.

-Do you do repairs?
-Yes!
-Great, I’ll be there soon!
-Our repair guy won’t be here until 1pm.
-Oh.

Sensing the sadness in my voice, the woman then told me the repairman’s schedule for the rest of the week.

I head off to the next store on the list, to discover it is a motorcycle shop, and then i decided to give up and just go home and play video games for the rest of the day, neglecting all of my work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Saxabooom permalink
    November 9, 2010 3:28 pm

    Sounds like a great start to an exciting week! Very similar to mine.

  2. Doug permalink*
    November 9, 2010 3:35 pm

    For the record, this reads very very similarly to a spam comment in every way, except I know you’re a live human being.

Leave a Reply

