Skip to content

Links Tuesday, the sequel

October 5, 2010
  • A recap of Operamission’s Cosi… “some assembly required.”  This was one of the cooler events I’ve seen this year, and I’m really glad operamission is willing to take leaps like this in programming.   Jen’s discussion of opera cliffhangers reminded me of Robert Ashley’s Perfect Lives.  I’m not a huge fan of Ashley’s music, but his ideas are fascinating.  They sort of bounce around inside my head.  I wonder if Ashley may be in a way like Cowell, for me: someone with a lot of great ideas to explore for music, but less than exciting execution.
  • John Adams’ Hell Mouth is, as always, a good read.
  • As is Proper Discord, who devotes some space to trashing the inevitable decline of the record industry.  Conventional wisdom is not always wise.
  • Einstein at the Beach, with more Legos.
  • I’m going to be honest, I didn’t read this, because I didn’t want the aggravation in my life.  But there are lots of words, so it must be good, right?
  • I Kyle Gann, who shared some great words from Michael Cunningham this week.
  • Finally, Malcolm Gladwell imparts his endless wisdom on the Arts and their use of social media.

Don’t forget to tune in tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

