Skip to content

Preview: The music of Henrik Ajax

April 18, 2010

This Wednesday kicks off the second series of Explorations, and we’ll be hearing the music of Henrik Ajax. I really hope you can tune in from 8-9pm on WRSU.  You should know how to find it, but you can look over on the right for a guide to listen in.  Also, we’ll have Explorations on the podcast as soon as possible following Wednesday’s show, which you can subscribe to way down on the bottom of the right column.

Explorations is a segment on the show where I find music by up and coming or lesser known composers, musicians, and sound artists, talk a bit about the composer, and then try to explain to you, the audience “Why its cool.”  You can find the schedule at and clicking on the Explorations Schedule.  I’m really excited for this second season, which I’m sure you’ll understand as soon as hear some of the music.

Henrik Ajax was born 1980 in Katrineholm, Sweden. After having studied the piano at Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris (2002-2005) he moved to Würzburg, Germany to study for composer Heinz Winbeck and the University of Music Würzburg. He received his degree in composition in July this year. As a pianist he did solo recitals and performed in different chamber music constellations in France and Sweden. He also worked as a piano improviser to silent films in Paris.  As a composer he had performances of chamber music in Paris, New York, Munich and several other German and Swedish cities.  In 2003 he received the artist scholarship of “L’institute Suèdois de Paris” and in 2006 the Stim-Prize (Swedish performing rights society).

We’ll be hearing his work Necessary Obsession performed by the Arcis Ensemble, a new music group at the Munich School of Music and Theatre. It was premiered in Munich, the 12th of June 2009.

Henrik was kind enough to write a few notes on the piece in English, where he said:

In the score I Included a quotation from William Blake: “the fool, who persists in his folly, becomes wise”. This is the key to “Necessary Obsession.”  Having the courage to reflect upon one’s self and one’s neuroses and fears and to persist on bringing them up to the surface.  The “obsessional idea” in this piece is a rhythmical gesture that is first introduced in the timpani and then “spread out” on the entire ensemble, leading up to the culmination and the final break down.

You can hear more music by Mr. Ajax on his myspace, which also has some live engagements if you live in Europe-land.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 4:42 am

    Hi! Just wanna say I like your posting on The music of Henrik Aja.
    I think it’s interesting..
    Surely, i will read your next postings.Keep up the good work!!

    a.e. (“,)


  1. Playlist 4/21 7:30-9:00pm « Endless Possibilities
  2. Preview: The music of Henrik Ajax « Endless Possibilities | アプリケーション開発者は、ログに記録

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: