Skip to content

In Principio etc tce cet

December 19, 2009

I knew it would happen, but I definitely shot myself in the foot by saying “I have a few more discs coming in next week, but I don’t really see any of them cracking the top 10…”

In christmas shopping, I picked up an album that made a huge splash on its release, but I never got around to getting.  That album is Arvo Part’s In Principio.  It’s really good.  I’ve been listening to it pretty nonstop the last week.  That said, none of the other discs I think don’t make the grade.  So can I have 11 in my top 10?

Also, it is staggering how much excellent music there is out there being made and recorded in 2009.  The year seems to have ended with a bit of a bombshell in terms of the economic viability and public interest in the arts (bullet 2), but its important to keep in mind that its certainly not a result of inferior music.  I’m not sure what the problem is, but I’m certainly looking to read about it.

Also related on not live performance but radio, which I should say is interesting because of the source – the NYT sold their classical radio station to NPR recently.  The merger of WNYC’s music efforts (which made me want to just quit doing radio since, well, I was never going to be as good as the Evening Music crew), seems to be drawing a little ire, based on one commenter here.  Truth be told, I haven’t listened to the new WQXR much, as I’ve been spending my time following sports or listening to CDs.  The station which took over QXR’s frequency advertises heavily in the city I teach in. They’re asking me to Cambiate!  over to 96.3.  Maybe its just not in my rhythm, but it’s also possible the times I’ve made it way out to WQXR’s frequency I’ve been really bored by the music.  I don’t know.  I do owe it a fair shot.

Speaking of which… I have to say that live performance is not dead, if my school concert is any indication.  People *liked* it, and not just because their kids were in it.  Even more important, the kids really soaked up the experience, and I think I’ve managed to get at least a few new initiates addicted to the performing drug.  Now that the Winter Concert’s over, I’ll be spending a little more time here.  More Explorations coming up in February (once I have my show schedule and match up the preemption schedule I”ll start picking air dates).

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 6:53 am

    Re school concerts. Isn’t Christmas is a great time for getting children into music? It’s the one time of year music-making is as socially important as it should be all the year round! (It’s the challenge facing the music teachers of the world to make it so).

Leave a Reply

