Skip to content

Undiscovered Islands

May 28, 2009

I have to say, I’m really annoyed at New Amsterdam Records right now.  Last week they mailed me a few new albums (that I’ll be reviewing soon and working into the radio playlists) along with William Brittelle’s Mohair Time Warp.   I’m not going to do a proper review of it, since its not brand new, but I do want to mention this…

You see, when the video below first appeared on the Internet, I had an unhealthy, unexplainable obsession with it.  Its possible I lost a few friends because of it… maybe even a relationship (“how can you NOT get this?”)

Anyways, now that I have the whole album, its rekindled my love for this video.  How dare you incite me to convince all my friends to come to my car and listen to the genius of this album during a B-B-Q, leading them to confusedly walk away and not talk to me for the rest of the afternoon?!

Anyways, I think the album’s really good.  You’d probably like it if you enjoy the way certain words feel just to say out loud.  Or if you like to flip the chanels on your TV and pretend the people inside the television are talking to each other, but not making any sense.  That’s what I imagine his new work, Television Landscapes, to sound like, actually.  You can hear a sample of it tomorrow night at Le Poisson Rouge, along with the WORLD PREMIERE of Missy Mazzoli’s Song from the Uproar (performed by the NOW Ensemble with Abigail Fischer) and new films by Stephen Taylor.  Its the last week of Undiscovered Islands.

btw… New Amsterdam: I lied.  I don’t hate you.  That relationship was probably doomed anyhow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

