Skip to content

Sometimes Silence is Wonderful

April 6, 2009

Let’s see if I can make this post without a John Cage reference….

A few months back a friend of mine asked what I was listening to.  I told him, with honesty, not a whole lot.  He was shocked and a little dissapointed.  He is currently studying music in college and I’m a recent graduate.  The basic premise of his surprise was “this is what you do, what you specialize in.  How can you not always be immersing yourself in it?”

Its tempting to say that during college I binged on music and now I’m recovering, but that’s not exactly the case.  The honest truth is that when you spend all day teaching music, listening to music with careful focus, or reading about, sometimes you need a break.  Silence is beautiful when its in contrast to noise what begins to feel like noise.

This weekend I listened to A LOT of music.  Of note was the University of Houston Percussion Ensemble CD I reviewed, two CDs I reviewed and will be posting later this week, and the Alexandre Tharaud CD I mentioned about a week back.  I have more music to listen to on the way, but right now I’m happily enjoying my noisy fridge and sound of my upstairs neighbor running his faucet.  At a certain point its hard to distinguish one from the other, and at that point, its time for a break.

I’m also mentally silent on things, and probably will be for a short period.  Time to refresh.  But please tune in Wednesday evening to hear Hannah Varty’s Edges of Slumber – something else I’ve been listening to and talking about.  If you miss it, I’ll have the audio of it stickied to the top of the page.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

