Skip to content

Earn it!

March 1, 2009

Alan Moore in a recent Wired Interview:

I think the amount of work we contribute to our enjoyment of any piece of art is a huge component of that enjoyment. I think that we like the pieces that engage us, that enter into a kind of dialog with us, whereas with film you sit there in your seat and it washes over you. It tells you everything, and you really don’t need to do a great deal of thinking.  

I think its an interesting thought.  I’ve heard people describe our generation as a film generation, which I think fits.  I also think there is a lot more good film out there than Moore would probably say.  At one point he criticizes the makers of The Matrix for redoing V for Vendetta to respond to the Iraq war for not being courageous enough to make their own anti-fascist film.  Apparently he’s never seen War, Inc – though that’s more of a modern day Brazil than modern day V.  Still, I think the example fits his requirements.

But I digress.  The real question I want to ask is “who is our market” for classical music?”  I think its a folly to try and attract the lazy movie going audience because to do so you’d have to radically change the product to cater to them.  If you wanted to try and cater to the ‘everyone else,’ you’re going to have to compete with a ton of other products that have more familiarity with that group.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

